The Wolf’s Gold by Anthony Riches

The Wolf’s Gold is the fifth book in Anthony Riches Empire series.

The Tungrian Auxiliary cohorts are recovering after their hard fought victory in Germania. Hoping to be sent home they are disappointed to be sent to Dacia to help defend the Alburnus Major Gold mine from marauding Sarmatae tribesmen who are determined to capture an Empires gold supply.

In a desperate fight to the death, Tribune Scaurus will have to lead his cohorts with all the skill and experience he has, if the Tungrians are to survive the onslaught and see their homes again.

Centurion, Marcus Corvus and his fellow officers not only have to fortify and defend the mine but they also have to deal with truculent mine owners and a new commander who as a political appointment is more of a danger to his men than the enemy.

As the Tungrians Cohorts desperately fight for survival, Centurion Corvus will learn a secret that will open a window onto the men who ordered the death of his entire family but can he survive the battle to seek revenge on them?

Knowing that failure to secure the Mine will bring down the wrath of Emperor Commodos onto them, the men will fight to the death to save the mine and the province of Dacia.

With rampaging barbarians, dubious allies and an incompetent leader, the cohorts face their toughest battle yet.

I have always enjoyed Anthony Riches books (whisper it quietly but I didn’t enjoy Leopards Sword as much!) and this book has to be his best book so far. The real joy of this book is the dialogue between the characters.  It is so sharp and it flows so easily between the  main characters and the banter is some of the best and funniest I have ever read. The infantry song about the cavalry had me spitting me drink all over my desk at work!

The main group of characters are now like old friends which makes reading about them so pleasurable and I like the way some of the group can fade into the background in one book and then be the main character in the next. An example is the use of Dubnus who is one of my favourite characters in the series but is hardly mentioned in this book.

In a year of great books this book has shot to the top of the leader board of my favourites! I really enjoyed it and got through it very quickly, which I always take as a sign of a good book. I don’t think I could recommend this book enough. An absolute must for any Roman histfic  fan!

This is Anthony Riches at his very best.

The Wolf’s Gold is released 25th October 2012

www.anthonyriches.com

About readinggivesmewings

Father of two girls with two passions, Reading and history. If I can combine the two then I am a happy person!
This entry was posted in Roman Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Wolf’s Gold by Anthony Riches

  1. Totally agree, Nick! This is Anthony Riches at his best and a step up from Leopard’s Sword. Good review! I get a real feel of the book from it 🙂

  2. Thank you Kate….it is amazing what you can get out of a book when you read it!

  3. Bruce says:

    After I read one of your reviews I make half-hearted suggestions to myself promising to forgo my other reading in favor of historical fiction. I mean, there is only so much time. Then I get real and just add another volume to my Amazon wish list. Great review Nick. I look forward to getting back to Riches. (I see Simon Scarrow just came out with a new series!)

  4. Thanks Bruce…I’m just reading the Scarrow book now….Brilliant so far…Will review next

  5. Looking forward to reading this one Nick.

  6. NH Mallett says:

    Hey Nick: Another good one. Too bad you don’t live in Canada — I could save a fortune just borrowing your 2nd hand books.

Leave a Reply

